Linguistic Society of America Minutes of the Annual Business Meeting

Friday, January 3, 2014 ~ 6:30 – 7:30pm Minneapolis Hilton, MN

Call to Order

The meeting was called to order by the President, Ellen Kaisse, at 6:30 pm.

Introductory Remarks

Dr. Kaisse welcomed the attendees and recognized all former Presidents of the LSA in attendance.

Report of the Secretary-Treasurer

Patrick Farrell offered highlights from his written report (which was published in the meeting handbook and is attached as Addendum A). He provided an update on the LSA's finances, membership numbers and related information.

Report of 2013 Election Results

Dr. Farrell confirmed the results of the LSA election:

- Vice-President/President-elect: John Rickford
- Executive Committee (At-Large): Ed Battistella, Heidi Harley

In Memoriam

Dr. Farrell requested a moment of silence in memory of the following LSA members who passed away since the last Annual Meeting: John Gumperz; Earl W. Stevick; Charles Kreidler; Calvert Watkins; Ivan Sag; Ward Goodenough; Kenneth Stevens; Jacqueline Schachter.

Program Committee Report

Andrew Nevins offered highlights from the committee's written report (which was published in the meeting handbook).

Editor's Reports

Language

Greg Carlson offered highlights from his written report (which was published in the meeting handbook).

Semantics and Pragmatics

Kai von Fintel (on behalf of co-editor David Beaver) offered highlights from their written report (which was published in the meeting handbook).

Archivist Report

Brian Joseph reported that he had received donations to the LSA archives of papers and correspondence of two former Editors of Language, and encouraged those present to consider donating papers of a similar nature to the LSA Archive in Missouri. He noted that all of the recent donations have been digitally scanned and would soon be made available on the LSA website.

Approval of Honorary Members

The following individuals were recommended by the LSA Executive Committee to receive honorary life memberships in the LSA: Greville G. Corbett, Distinguished Professor of Linguistics, University of Surrey; Jacek Fisiak, Professor Ordinarius, Adam Mickiewicz University, Poznan; and Irene Philippaki-Warburton, Professor Emeritus, University of Reading.

The honorary memberships of the three individuals cited above were approved.

Resolutions of Thanks

A resolution was presented by Dr. Jeanette Gundel:

Whereas, the LSA relies on the efforts of numerous members and volunteers to organize the Annual Meeting and to conduct its work throughout the year.

Therefore, be it resolved that the following individuals be formally thanked for their contributions to the LSA:

The officers of the LSA, Patrick Farrell, Joan Maling, Keren Rice, and Ellen Kaisse and for their leadership and service.

Andrew Nevins and Molly Diesing, for leading the program committee in delivering another successful Annual Meeting.

Greg Carlson, Stanley Dubinsky and Natsuko Tsujimura for their editorial leadership of Language.

Dieter Stein for his five years of outstanding editorial leadership of eLanguage, and to Kai von Fintel and David Beaver for their work as Editors of *Semantics and Pragmatics*.

Linguistics faculty and students at the University of Minnesota and Carleton College, for their assistance with recruiting volunteers to help staff the meeting, and also with the local logistics.

All of the LSA's various committee chairs and members, as we work together to implement the LSA's ambitious strategic plan.

The sister societies of the LSA, for their contributions in making the Annual Meeting a more vibrant and dynamic gathering of linguists.

Robin Queen and Andries Coetzee at the University of Michigan, for organizing and planning the 2013 biennial Linguistic Institute.

The LSA Executive Committee, including those concluding their service at this meeting: Andrew Garrett and Mark Liberman.

The Secretariat staff, Alyson Reed (Executive Director), David Robinson (Director of Membership and Meetings), and Rita Lewis (Executive Assistant), for their outstanding work.

A motion to endorse this resolution was approved by acclamation.

Induction of LSA Fellows

Dr. Kaisse presented the 2014 class of Fellows for induction: Hagit Borer (Queen Mary University of London); Wallace Chafe (University of California, Santa Barbara); Gennaro Chierchia (Harvard University); Lyn Frazier (University of Massachusetts, Amherst); Adele Goldberg (Princeton University); Beth Levin (Stanford University); Philip Rubin (Yale University); Don Winford (The Ohio State University).

The Fellows in attendance were presented with certificates and rosettes by Dr. Kaisse.

<u>New Business</u> There was no new business conducted.

<u>Adjournment</u>

There being no other business, the meeting was adjourned by Dr. Kaisse at 7:30 pm.

Addendum A

SECRETARY-TREASURER'S REPORT Patrick Farrell, January 2014

Budget and Finance

The LSA's financial position continues to be strong. For the Fiscal Year 2013, which ended on September 30, 2013, our operating budget shows a surplus of just under \$16,000, in spite of the fact that expenses for website maintenance, liability insurance, and committees exceeded budgeted amounts and revenue from membership dues, meetings, and advertising was somewhat less than anticipated. Our current operating budget, for Fiscal Year 2014, projects a similar surplus, even though it includes increased allocations for the expanding publications program and the associated addition of content to the LSA website and to Project Muse. The Society's investment portfolio performed well during the year. Even though there were withdrawals of just over \$38,000 for Institute expenses, its total value grew by nearly \$93,000 between September 30, 2012 and the same day in 2013, on which it was \$1,104,842.

The LSA's budget documents and financial statements are available for inspection by any member. If you wish to see them, contact the Secretariat.

Membership

The trend of declining memberships over the past five years or so appears to be slowing somewhat, as the total number of individual memberships on October 1, 2013 was 3,762, which is about the same as on November 16, 2012, when the total was 3,767. However, as 2013 is an Institute year, what happened was that the predictable rise in student memberships (from 1,200 to 1,378) barely counterbalanced a decrease from 1,865 to 1,744 in regular memberships. As expected, due to decreasing interest in print-edition journals and increasing interest in such online repositories of journal content as Project MUSE and JSTOR, revenue from institutional memberships declined by a little over \$25,000 in the past year. Unfortunately but understandably, although royalty income saw another annual increase, the fee-generating and revenue-sharing mechanisms of Project MUSE and JSTOR are not sufficiently generous as to make up for the effects of declining institutional subscriptions. Total revenue from royalties, sales, and reprint permissions rose from \$142,263 for fiscal year 2012 to \$143,565 for fiscal year 2013.

Election results

Online voting was open to all LSA members from September 1 to November 2, 2013. The votes cast resulted in the election of John R. Rickford (Stanford University) as Vice President/ President-elect and Edwin Battistella (Southern Oregon University) and Heidi Harley (University of Arizona) as members at-large of the Executive Committee for three-year terms.

In Memoriam

Regrettably, the following LSA members have passed away:

John Gumperz, March 29, 2013; Earl W. Stevick, August 13, 2013; Charles Kreidler, April 29, 2013; Calvert Watkins, March 20, 2013; Ivan Sag, September 10, 2013; Ward Goodenough, June 9, 2013; Kenneth Stevens, August 19, 2013; Jacqueline Schachter, October 22, 2011.