Linguistic Society of America Minutes of the Annual Business Meeting

Friday, January 8, 2016 ~ 6:30 – 7:30pm Marriott Marquis, Washington, DC

Call to Order

The meeting was called to order by the President, John Rickford, at 6:35 pm.

Introductory Remarks

Dr. Rickford welcomed the attendees and recognized all former Presidents of the LSA in attendance.

Report of the Secretary-Treasurer

Patrick Farrell offered highlights from his written report (which was published in the meeting handbook and is attached as Addendum A). He provided an update on the LSA's finances, membership numbers and related information.

Report of 2015 Election Results

Dr. Farrell confirmed the results of the LSA election:

- Vice-President/President-elect: Larry Hyman
- Executive Committee (At-Large): Sharon Inkelas, Robin Queen

In Memoriam

Dr. Farrell requested a moment of silence in memory of the following LSA members who passed away since the last Annual Meeting:

- Lowell Bouma
- Paul Chapin
- Richard Diebold
- John Holm
- Lisi Oliver
- Christopher Rhodes

Program Committee Report

Andries Coetzee offered highlights from the committee's written report on behalf of Marlyse Baptista (which was published in the meeting handbook).

Editor's Reports

Language

Greg Carlson offered highlights from his written report (which was published in the meeting handbook).

Semantics and Pragmatics

Kai von Fintel (on behalf of co-editor David Beaver) offered highlights from their written report (which was published in the meeting handbook).

Approval of Honorary Members

Barbara Partee reported that the following individuals were recommended by the LSA Executive Committee to receive honorary life memberships in the LSA:

- Erhard Hinrichs (Eberhard Karls Universität Tübingen)
- Yogendra Prasad Yadava (Tribhuvan University)
- Ian Roberts (University of Cambridge)

The honorary memberships of the three individuals cited above were approved.

Induction of LSA Fellows

Dr. Rickford presented the 2015 class of Fellows for induction:

- Karlos Arregi (University of Chicago)
- Robert Blust (University of Hawai'i at Mānoa)
- Jonathan Bobaljik (University of Connecticut)
- Eve V. Clark (Stanford University)
- William Croft (University of New Mexico)
- Kai von Fintel (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
- Ellen Kaisse (University of Washington)
- Lisa Green (University of Massachusetts Amherst)
- Sabine latridou (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
- Maria Polinsky (University of Maryland)
- Alan Yu (University of Chicago)

The Fellows in attendance were presented with certificates and rosettes by Dr. Rickford.

Resolutions of Thanks

A resolution was presented by Ralph Fasold:

"Whereas, the LSA relies on the efforts of numerous members and volunteers to organize the Annual Meeting and to conduct its work throughout the year.

Therefore, be it resolved that the following individuals be formally thanked for their contributions to the LSA:

The officers of the LSA, Patrick Farrell, Alice Harris, Joan Maling and John Rickford, for their leadership and service.

Marlyse Baptista and Andries Coetzee, for leading the program committee in delivering another successful Annual Meeting.

Kai von Fintel and David Beaver for their work as Editors of Semantics and Pragmatics.

Greg Carlson, Stan Dubinsky and Helen Goodluck, for their editorial leadership of Language

Linguistics students at the University of Maryland for their assistance with local logistics.

All of the LSA's various committee chairs and members, as we work together to implement the LSA's ambitious strategic plan.

The sister societies of the LSA, for their contributions in making the Annual Meeting a more vibrant and dynamic gathering of linguists.

Alan Yu and Karlos Arregi at the University of Chicago, for organizing the 2015 biennial Linguistic Institute.

Alice Taff and Siri Tuttle at the University of Alaska, for planning CoLang 2016.

The LSA Executive Committee, including those concluding their service at this meeting: Colin Phillips and Ellen Broselow.

The Secretariat staff, Alyson Reed (Executive Director), David Robinson (Director of Membership and Meetings), Brice Russ (former Director of Communications), and Rita Lewis (Executive Assistant), for their outstanding work."

The resolution was approved by acclamation.

Adjournment

There being no other business, the meeting was adjourned by Dr. Rickford at 7:30 pm.

LSA Friday Evening

Secretary-Treasurer's Report Patrick Farrell, January 2016

Budget and Finance

The LSA's financial position continues to be strong, as reflected in its ability to moderately increase staffing for publications, purchase a new office for the Secretariat, with much-needed additional space that includes a rentable sub-unit, and provide capital improvements in the form of website renovation and extensive office remodeling. For the fiscal year that ended on September 30, 2015, there was an increase of 5.5% or just over \$37K in income from our main revenue sources, i.e., membership dues, institutional subscriptions to Language, royalties from Language, and the annual meeting. Thanks in part to strong performance in terms of downloads and hits by web-only articles, particularly in the new Perspectives and Language and Public Policy sections, Project MUSE revenue increased over last year by about \$6K, in spite of the fact that Language articles from 2013 on are being made available via our open-access archive after a one-year embargo, in accordance with policies adopted in 2012-13 by the Executive Committee.

The Society's investment income for the fiscal year was \$81,492 and the investment accounts gained \$67,425 from contributions. There was, however, an expected reduction in the overall value of the portfolio related to the office relocation. This, in addition to layout expenditures for the 2015 Institute in Chicago and stock market losses account for a total unrealized loss for the fiscal year of \$218,173.

The LSA's budget documents and financial statements are available for inspection by any member. If you wish to see them, contact the Secretariat (lsa@lsadc.org).

Membership

The total number of individual memberships on October 2, 2015 was 3,640, which is up 8.2% from the same day last year. Director of Memberships and Meetings David Robinson is preparing for the Executive Committee a detailed report on membership numbers and trends and efforts to stimulate growth.

Election Results

Online voting was open to all LSA members from September 1 to November 7, 2015. The votes cast resulted in the election of Larry Hyman (University of California, Berkeley) as Vice-President/President-elect and Sharon Inkelas (University of California, Berkeley) and Robin Queen (University of Michigan) as members at-large of the Executive Committee for three-year terms. The Executive Committee extended Greg Carlson's term as Editor of Language for one year, as the election, originally scheduled for this year, was postponed and a search for a successor will take place in 2016.

In Memoriam

Regrettably, the following LSA members passed away (in 2015, unless another year is noted):

Lowell Bouma (2014)
Paul Chapin
Richard Diebold (2014)
Elisabeth Oliver
Christopher Rhodes